J. Michael Kelly wins in San Diego and takes the 2021 national title

Press release: September 19, 2021

SAN DIEGO — The 2021 national driver’s championship for H1 Unlimited Racing Series
came down to the final heat of the year—today’s winner-take-all final heat of the HomeStreet
Bank San Diego Bayfair event on Mission Bay in San Diego. When it was over, J. Michael
Kelly of Bonney Lake, Washington, won both while driving Miss Tri-Cities.

The day started with Kelly holding a 180-point lead over defending national
champion Jimmy Shane in the national driver’s standings. The two then faced each other
in the first preliminary heat. Shane, of Covington, Washington, grabbed the lead at the start
driving Miss HomeStreet and held that position to the end, giving him 400 points compared
with 300 for Kelly. That cut Kelly’s lead to only 80 points heading into the final heat of the
race and of the 2021 season.

At the start of the final, Shane again took the lead and continued to pull ahead of Dave
Villwock in Miss Beacon Plumbing, while Kelly followed in third place. That’s how the boats
remained to the finish line. Meanwhile, in reviewing the start, race officials determined that both Shane and
Corey Peabody, the driver of Pinnacle Peak Consultants, had started too early, causing both
to be assessed a one-lap penalty. Then, when the data boxes were checked after the race, it
was determined that Villwock was disqualified for going too slow before the start.

With the penalties, Kelly was awarded the first-place finish, Shane was second, and
Peabody was third, As for the day’s other preliminary heat, Villwock ran alone on the course when Jamie
Nilsen of Gig Harbor, Washington, was unable to get J&D’s across the starting line. J&D’s was
damaged during Saturday’s racing when its engine blew. The team’s crew worked late into
the night and through the morning to make repairs, but the engine just couldn’t keep running
long enough to make it into the race.

The HomeStreet Bank San Diego Bayfair race concludes a 2021 H1 Unlimited Racing
Series season that featured some of the closest competition in many years. The race teams
will now head home for the winter and will start preparing the world’s fastest boats for a
2022 campaign that promises to be bigger and better than ever.

HEAT 3A—1, Jimmy Shane, Miss HomeStreet, 400 points, 151.740 avg. speed; 2, J. Michael Kelly, Miss Tri-Cities, 300,
149.551; Corey Peabody, Pinnacle Peak Consulting, 0, DSQ.

HEAT 3B—1, Dave Villwock, Miss Beacon Plumbing, 400, 148.384; Jamie Nilsen J&D’s, 0, DNS.

FINAL HEAT—1, J. Michael Kelly, Miss Tri-Cities, 400, 144.874; 2, Jimmy Shane, Miss HomeStreet, 300, 126.157; 3,
Corey Peabody, 225, 113.719; Dave Villwock, Miss Beacon Plumbing, DSQ.

ACCUMULATED POINTS— Jimmy Shane, 1600; J. Michael Kelly, 1570; Dave Villwock, 1080; Corey Peabody, 810;
Jamie Nilsen, J&D’s, 50; Kelly Stocklin, Bucket List Racing, DNQ.

FINAL NATIONAL STANDINGS (DRIVERS)—1, J. Michael Kelly, Bonney Lake, Washington, 5605; 2, Jimmy Shane,
Covington, Washington, 5425; 3, Corey Peabody, Kent, Washington, 4217; 4, Andrew Tate, Canton, Michigan, 3380; 5,
Dave Villwock, Monroe, Washington, 3199; 6, Jamie Nilsen, Gig Harbor, Washington, 2667; 7, Jeff Bernard, Kent,
Washington, 1029; 8, Jimmy King, Memphis, Michigan, 790; Dustin Echols, Monroe, Washington, 649.

FINAL NATIONAL STANDINGS (BOATS)—1, Miss HomeStreet, 6454; 2, Miss Tri-Cities, 5605; 3, Pinnacle Peak Consulting,
4273, 4, Graham Trucking, 3380; 5, Miss Beacon Plumbing, 3199;6, J&D’s, 2667; 7, Griggs presents Miss Ace Hardware,
790; 8, Bucket List Racing, 649.

Cover photo credit: Digital Roostertails

Facebook Comments

%d bloggers like this: